27 Vegan Easter Candy Treats to Fill an Alpha-Gal Friendly Basket

Chocolate Easter egg wrapped in pink ribbon and assorted Easter candy

Whether you’re hosting an egg hunt or filling Easter baskets for family members, this delicious list of vegan Easter candy provides you with some of the tastiest alpha-gal friendly options available this season.

The information provided on this site is based on my personal experience living with alpha-gal syndrome. I consistently cite and link to expert sources, but nothing published on this site should be perceived as medical advice.

Alpha-gal sensitivities vary by person. You should understand your dietary restrictions, making any adjustments needed, and directing any questions to your physician.

When you live with a recently diagnosed food allergy, you can no longer dive into the candy inside a plastic Easter egg or nibble the ear off of a solid chocolate bunny without first reading the ingredients. And when you discover that the jelly beans contain gelatin or the chocolate bunny contains milk, you may need to set them aside for someone else to enjoy. But not with this list of vegan Easter treats! 

If you’re looking for alpha-gal allergy-free Easter candy, you’ve come to the right place! Fill your favorite alpha gal’s Easter basket to the brim with the perfect treat, from chocolate Easter eggs to jelly beans and beyond.

Bunny by an Easter basket filled with decorated eggs


In This Article

Important Notes About This List of Vegan Easter Candy for Alpha Gals

  • According to this article, most people with alpha-gal can tolerate “moderate, lean dairy” (like skim milk). While this is a dairy free Easter candy list, if you are a highly sensitive alpha gal, you’ll want to read the ingredients list or contact the manufacturer to ensure that it doesn’t contain trace amounts of dairy from cross-contamination. (And if you can tolerate dairy products, there are many more Easter candy options for you to enjoy beyond this list!)
  • Glycerin can be either plant based (vegetable oil) or animal based (tallow). And, just to keep people with food allergies on their toes, it’s impossible to know what type of glycerin is in your food simply by scanning the ingredients list. Instead, you’ll have to contact the manufacturer. The glycerin used in candy is nearly always plant-based. But if you are a highly sensitive alpha gal, you should confirm the type of glycerin used with the Fig app or by contacting the manufacturer yourself to be absolutely certain.
  • Because it is a plant-based ingredient, some vegan candies (especially those made with vegan marshmallows) may contain carrageenan. Unfortunately, this seaweed extract is one of the only plant-based ingredients that contains the alpha-gal epitope. Because it can cause a reaction in some people with alpha-gal syndrome, I’ve excluded any vegan Easter candy with carrageenan from this list.
  • Because there is no FDA-endorsed definition of “vegan” in the United States, food manufacturers may use the designation as they like. To ensure that your vegan candy for Easter is truly free of animal products, look for options that have been certified by a trusted third party – like Vegan.org, The Vegan Society, or VegeCert.

Vegan Chocolate Easter Eggs

Easter wouldn’t be Easter without the classic hunt for chocolate eggs, but when you’re navigating the world with alpha-gal syndrome or embracing a vegan lifestyle, finding the right treats can feel like a hunt of its own. Fortunately, this selection of vegan chocolate Easter eggs is both delicious and appropriate for alpha-gals and vegans alike. From creamy, dreamy options that melt in your mouth to fun, filled surprises that delight with every bite, these vegan chocolates are about to make your Easter basket more inclusive and exciting than ever before.

Moo Free Chocolate Easter Eggs

UK-based Moo Free makes delicious chocolates that everyone can enjoy. Their entire line is not only dairy-free, but also wheat, gluten, and soya free.  Stick with a classic with their original chocolate Easter egg or look for a surprise inside their Bunny Comb filled Easter egg

No Whey! Eggs

On this side of the Atlantic, No Whey! Foods creates dairy-free chocolates that are vegan, kosher, and free of the nine most common allergens. Create a vegan Easter basket that includes milkless surprise eggs and mini cream eggs. Additionally, their mini peaNOT butter cup filled eggs are made with sunflower butter providing a delicious alternative to peanut butter eggs for people with nut allergies. And for chocolate eggs with a twist, check out their egg-shaped vegan brownies

Three Easter egg cookie cutters.
Photo Credit: Amazon.

Egg-Shaped Rice Crispy Treats

For a DIY option, whip up a batch of my alpha-gal friendly rice crispy treats using Paskesz marshmallows (made with fish gelatin). Then cut them into fun Easter egg shapes and decorate them as desired.

Sage Advice: Round out your alpha gal’s Easter basket with non-edible treats and surprises like this free Easter word search printable.

Vegan Chocolate Bunnies

Who says you can’t have a chocolate Easter bunny and eat it too? I’ve hopped around to find vegan chocolate bunnies that promise all the joy and none of the worry, ensuring alpha gals can indulge in the tradition of biting into a chocolate bunny this Easter.

Photo Credit: Amazon

No Whey! Chocolate Easter Bunnies

Ensuring that kids of all ages can nibble the ear off of a solid chocolate Easter bunny – even if they have a food allergy – the folks at No Whey! have created vegan versions of classic chocolate bunnies. There’s Jake the Milkless Easter Bunny for those who love solid chocolate, Noah the Vegan Easter Bunny for those who prefer a hollow version, and Cottontail the Milkless White Bunny for those who enjoy white chocolate.

Lake Champlain Vegan Chocolate Easter Bunnies
Photo Credit: Amazon

Lake Champlain Chocolate Easter Bunnies

Although the majority of their delicious fair-trade chocolate is made with fresh, local ingredients (like milk from Vermont cows), Lake Champlain Chocolates offers a few vegan versions of its chocolate Easter bunnies. Their milk chocolate Easter bunny is made with oatmilk, and the vegan solid dark chocolate bunny is also dairy free.

Vegan Jelly Beans and Gummy Candies

An Easter basket isn’t complete without colorful, chewy jelly beans, but many varieties are made with gelatin, a no-no for both alpha gals and vegans. But not these vegan jelly beans! These treats are the perfect way to add a pop of color and a burst of flavor to your Easter celebrations.

Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
Photo Credit: Amazon

Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

While many brands of jelly beans use gelatin to make their sweets, Jelly Belly jelly beans are kosher certified and do not contain gelatin. So whether you buy a regular bag or one that’s decorated for spring, a classic flavor or gummy sours, you can enjoy this classic Easter treat knowing it’s alpha-gal friendly.

Photo Credit: Amazon

Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans

Made by the Hershey Company, Jolly Rancher also makes gelatin-free jelly beans. They are sold in the same beloved flavors as Jolly Rancher hard candies, including strawberry, orange, watermelon, grape, blue raspberry, and green apple.

Starburst Jelly Beans
Photo Credit: Amazon

Starburst Jelly Beans

Sold in a variety of flavors like cherry, orange, strawberry, lemon, green apple, and grape, Starburst jelly beans are alpha-gal friendly. However, because the last ingredient listed is confectioner’s glaze (which is derived from an insect), this brand of jelly bean is not vegan.

Sage Advice: If you love regular Starburst, you’ll be glad to know that Starburst Minis are made with fruit pectin (rather than gelatin) and are also alpha-gal friendly.

Surf Sweets Jelly Beans
Photo Credit: Amazon

Surf Sweets Organic Jelly Beans

Using organic cane sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup, Surf Sweets offers a line of allergy-friendly, jelly beans and other gummy sweets made with organic ingredients. And while their jelly beans are alpha-gal friendly, the use of confectioner’s glaze means this specific product is not vegan.

YumEarth organic jelly beans are a delicious vegan Easter candy option.
Photo Credit: Amazon.

YumEarth Organic Jelly Beans

Hop into spring with these yummy allergy-friendly jelly beans from YumEarth in your vegan Easter basket! Made with no artificial dyes or high fructose corn syrup, they come in fresh fruity flavors like mango, peach, cherry, and apple.

Other Vegan Easter Candy

Beyond classic bunnies and jelly beans, there’s a whole world of vegan Easter candy waiting to hop into your basket. Here are a few other alpha-gal friendly treats to add to your vegan Easter basket.

Yum Earth Bunny-Shaped Fruit Snacks
Photo Credit: Amazon

Yum Earth Organic Gummy Fruits

These bunny-shaped fruit snacks are not only vegan and alpha-gal friendly, but they are made without artificial dyes, do not contain high fructose corn syrup, and are flavored naturally with apples, carrots, and currants.

Mini Moo Bunny Bag
Photo Credit: Amazon

Bunny Bag

This adorable bunny-shaped bag is filled with an assortment of vegan candy, including vegan fruit bears, chocolate drop candies, and mini moos bars.

No Whey! Bunny Tubes
Photo Credit: Amazon

Bunny Tubes

In addition to several delicious vegan Easter egg chocolates, No Whey! also makes these bunny tubes filled with Choco Nonos, a dairy-free alternative to M&M candies.

Venchi Chocolate Chicks
Photo Credit: Amazon

Dark Chocolate Chick

Why should the Easter bunny have all the fun? These adorable chick-shaped candies are not only cute, but contain no artificial ingredients. 

No Whey Easter Lollipops
Photo Credit: Amazon

Easter Lollipop Collection

In addition to the Easter candies mentioned above, No Whey! makes a trio of adorable chocolate bunny lollipops that are a cute addition to any Easter basket.

Vegan Easter Gift Bag
Photo Credit: Amazon

Vegan Easter Gift Bag

Fill a vegan Easter basket in a snap with this assortment of vegan treats, including mango fruit bites, a crispy treat, dark chocolate peanut butter cups, and more, shipped in a bunny-themed bag. 

Vegan Truffles
Photo Credit: Amazon

Vegan Easter Truffles

If you are looking for a chocolatey hostess gift or a grown-up Easter basket option, these vegan truffles are the perfect pick that just scream, “It’s finally spring!” in a box decorated with daffodils.

Sage Advice: From hard candies to gummies, lollipops to chocolate treats, here are 50 more alpha-gal safe candy treats to check out as you fill plastic Easter eggs and wicker Easter baskets this season.

What’s Your Favorite Vegan Easter Candy?

Do you prefer hard candy, chewy candy, or chocolate? Is there a vegan Easter candy I’ve missed in my list? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Thank you for sharing!

4 thoughts on “27 Vegan Easter Candy Treats to Fill an Alpha-Gal Friendly Basket”

    1. Yes, you’re right! I was reviewing the ingredients list for Starburst Minis (which are made with fruit pectin instead). I’ve updated this article accordingly. Thanks for catching that!

  1. Wow this is really informative list! My favorite is Jelly Belly Jelly Beans and I didnt know it doesnt contain gelatin. I would like to try Vegan Chocolate Bunnies next!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *